Program Structure

The Ripa program structure, which includes programming for Levels I-III, is as follows:

Medicine Buddha Orissa

Level I: This level is primarily secular, even as it is informed by the Vajrayana perspective, and includes programs oriented equally for the general public, on topics such as:

  • Health (diet and exercise), including programs on: Tibetan Medicine, YOGOM, and the practice of Sangye Menla or Medicine Buddha; includes meditations on: the meaning of building strength, flexibility, and balance in one’s life, learning how to be whole, to find contentment, fully recognizing the preciousness of one’s human life, and how to be fully present to one’s self and one’s path, by taking proper care of one’s own life.
  • Well Being (the wisdom of relationship),includes programs for: singles, couples, families, children (life skills, friendship), and elders (aging with dignity, eldercare, and so on), includes meditations on loving kindness, or ‘metta’, and recognizing the importance and place of the various stages in life, and the needs and perspectives of others.
  • Eco-Dharma: includes programs on the environment and sustainability, and meditations on interdependence, as well as sympathetic joy — not just wishing others well, but creating the actual circumstances for others to enjoy positive circumstances.
  • Socially Engaged Buddhism; includes programs around humanitarian projects, and meditations on: compassion, empathy, sympathy, and appreciation, taking joy in natural beauty, and seeing the best in our world, our environment, and others, and finding value, dignity, and worth, in ways that we may have never fully noticed or acknowledged.
  • Abundance: programs for building success in everyday life, through developing life skills personally and professionally, as well as, learning how to best navigate challenges, and, including meditations on: giving space for life to unfold, being generous, not just with time, skills, or offerings, but also by acknowledging the accomplishments of others, and supporting their growth, which due to interdependence, then allows the greater community to flourish as a whole.

Level II: Level II programs support the development and understanding of Hinayana and Mahayana Buddhist teachings:

  • Sutrayana: programs on topics of Buddhist ethics and philosophy, and
  • Shamatha, also known as Shiné, level meditation.


Level III: Level III programs support the more advanced Vajrayana Buddhist practices, including:

  • Vajrayana teachings,
  • Vajrayana empowerments and liturgical practice (or sadhanas),
  • Drupchos, or extended practices,
  • Tsa Lung,
  • Dzogchen retreats, and
  • Long retreats.

1 - Root Gesar Orissa